Ascari wins British GT3 championship op Intrax shock absorbers

The Avon Tyres British GT Championship claimed another motor-sporting first today at Brands Hatch when twin brothers David and Godfrey Jones took championship victory in the final round; it’s not only the first British GT championship win shared by siblings but is believed also to be a UK first for twins.

The Jones brothers, 56 and from Newtown Linford in Leicestershire, clinched the crown by a single point thanks to their victory yesterday in round 13 and their third-place finish today at the wheel of their Team Preci-Spark Ascari KZ1R, which is prepared by Midlands-based Team Pyro. They scored three race wins during the season and a further six podium finishes.

Said Godfrey Jones: "I have been dreaming about this. I have dreamt good things and bad, it’s nice to have it over and that it’s gone the way we wanted it. We knew what we had to do… the one way that we could lose it was to not finish the race. The team has done a great job with the car and it’s worked out very well."

"I think Godfrey drove superbly in the first half of the race," said David. "He kept it on the pace and I just had to bring it home third, which I did."

The Jones brothers’ Ascari finished next, ahead of the Barwell-Beechdean Aston of Jamie Smyth and Andrew Howard and the RPM Ford GT of Alex Mortimer and Philip Walker, which ran third early on but which lost time in its pit stop when it failed to restart promptly. The Ferraris of Mike Edmonds/Duncan Cameron and Chris Hyman/Paul Warren placed sixth and seventh in GT3.

Avon Tyres British GT Championship
Provisional results round 14
Brands Hatch 20/9/2009
39 laps / 89.73 miles

1  INV Barwell Ginetta G50Z,  Phil Quaife/Leo Machitski  1h 01.216s
2  GT3 Rosso Verde Ferrari 430,  Allan Simonsen/Hector Lester  +0.821s
3  GT3 VRS Ferrari 430,  Adam Wilcox/Phil Burton  +17.209s
4  GT3 Preci-Spark Ascari KZR1,  David Jones/Godfrey Jones  +36.379s
5  GT3 Beechdean Aston Martin DBRS9,  Andrew Howard/Jamie Smyth  +38.558s
6  GT3 RPM Ford GT,  Philip Walker/Alex Mortimer  +51.962s
7  GT3 MTECH Ferrari 430,  Duncan Cameron/Mike Edmonds  +52.326s
8  GT3 Chad Ferrari 430,  Chris Hyman/Paul Warren  +52.448s
9  INV KTM X-BOW,  Reinhard Kofler  38 laps
10 GT4 WFR Ginetta G50,  Jody Firth/Nigel Moore  37 laps
11  INV MBR Morgan Aero 8,  Howard Spooner  36 laps
12  SS  Piranha Motorsport Lotus 2-11,  Chris Bialan/Simon Mason  36 laps
13 GT4 Stark Ginetta G50,  Ian Stinton/Gary Simms  36 laps
14  GT3 ABG Dodge Viper,  Aaron Scott/Craig Wilkins  28 laps

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *